Everyone will be able to get their apps on their iPhones

Probably like many of you, I’m currently researching the many things Apple has released today for WWDC 2015. Lots of big news, but one thing I found only while reading the developer site.

From now on, everyone with Xcode 7 and an iPhone will be able to run their own apps on their device. For FREE. No Program membership required! Here’s the excerpt from Apple’s site.

Xcode 7 and Swift now make it easier for everyone to build apps and run them directly on their Apple devices. Simply sign in with your Apple ID, and turn your idea into an app that you can touch on your iPad, iPhone, or Apple Watch. Download Xcode 7 beta and try it yourself today. Program membership is not required.

Xcode’s page

To me, this is big news. After following Apple news and the tech world for a long time, finally, I decided to become a contributor. I really wanted to learn how to build iOS apps, but for that you needed access to the entire suite of tools you can only access on a Mac. That was way out of my league, so I had to figure out another way.

Thanks to the amazing community online, I was able to put together a working hackintosh and before I knew it, I was running Mountain Lion and building things with Xcode. But even then, in order to see my test apps live, to be able to touch them, I had to pay another $100 for the developer program. That wasn’t an easy decision.

Think about it, if you had to start from scratch and you had no resources, would a hundred bucks be an easy call? But now, you don’t have to make that call! You can just download the free (extremely awesome) tools and get cracking.

This will open up the ecosystem in a way that wasn’t possible before and I’m really excited to see to see all the cool stuff they will be able to build.

Peace!

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

Giving up is the best feeling ever!

“It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything” Tyler Durden. This quote resonates so well because most(?) of us innately find pleasure in complete surrender. Almost like a primal instinct to submit oneself to the... Continue →