Legacy as a barrier

Microsoft is completely stuck supporting all the legacy features it’s many millions of user require to be maintained, I get it. There is no expectation on my part that MS will ever be able to change that, that’s why we have new entrants.

As a result I came to rely on Google docs, what can I say, online documents is the future. But I cannot understand why has Google clinged to the interface language of the past that disrespects the main utility of the tool they’re providing - content creation/editing.

legacy.png

There is no doubt - minimalist content creation tools are picking up (I wrote this post entirely in the svbtle editor) I just hope Google figures this out and does something out this. Not all legacy is worth keeping around.

Psst, if you’re looking for inspiration, look at Vim and how it respects its users. Let us focus on our work not on your tools.

vim.png

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

Drawing lines

When you think about it, we transfer information in only one of two ways: drawing and/or speaking. Given that fact, it is very important for anyone interested in communicating to attain a good grasp on the fundamentals. For the purpose... Continue →