Thank you, Hollywood

From time to time, I browse movie trailers on apple.com to get a general feel for cinematic culture, and, even though the sight isn’t always pretty, recently I feel there’s reason to be thankful.

Why is that? #

Movies are vehicles that have a fairly large and immediate impact on pop culture, thus their message (or lack thereof) is a way to nudge societies in one direction or another.

I’d venture a guess that the most conducive genre in that regard is science fiction. And I’m not talking about the glaring new Star Trek here, which is just an action movie, no, I’m referring to 2001: A Space Odyssey and such.

I guess it’d be easiest to classify those as gracefully exploring profound questions relevant to the progress of humanity. And I think I caught a glimpse of that from these upcoming or recent releases:

Here be Dragons #

interstellar


thesignal

The resilience of life #

gravity
Here’s my amazon link to Gravity if you’d like to support.


Forms of intelligence other than our own #

transcendence


And so - I am thankful. And not just because they are good movies, but because they have the ability to induce a spark of curiosity and nudge our culture in a better direction.

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

Teaching yourself by teaching others, slowly.

At some point during my CS studies I decided to do a lecture on the C programming language. At that point I had no clue whatsoever about the language, but this was in a way an experiment to test if it’s any easier to learn something by... Continue →